Thread: NBA Injury vs. Salary Cap Rules

+ Reply to Thread
  1. TOP #1
    HiRez is developing a reputation HiRez's Avatar Overlord

Default NBA Injury vs. Salary Cap Rules

Question: If they determine Monta will be out for the entire year, is there any provision whereby a team can get some cap relief to sign a replacement? It really seems unfair because a freak accident like that can totally derail your season. I know it's happened to other teams as well (Brand & Clips), but now it's hitting home and it sucks. I think if a team has to shelve a player for an entire season, they should be allowed some emergency cap space to sign or trade for a replacement, which would require that player to remain ineligible to play the entire year. I'm not saying Monta will be out the whole year, but it seems like it could be a real possibility as it's a rather serious injury. Then again, all the players are pretty much signed at this point so it'd have to be by trade.

2. TOP #2
    cpawfan is developing a reputation Monsters do exist

Default Re: NBA Injury vs. Salary Cap Rules

From Coon's NBA CBA FAQ