Packers Seahawks

Welcome to our community

Be a part of something great, join today!

The officiating was so bad up to that point you can't really ride the whole game on that one play.

It's what people do. Like blaming a FG kicker for missing a FG in the final seconds rather than a holding penalty, dropped pass or bad read by a QB in the first series of a game. Or a FT shooter missing in the final seconds when maybe someone turned the ball over in the first quarter that led to a score
 
add-b.jpg

lol, this was the best. What a disgrace to the NFL.
 
How quickly you forget the "travelling called 5 plays in a row because the college refs don't much like the NBA game" era of replacement refs several years ago.

i'd still take it, eventually the players would stop traveling if they actually called it.
 
Heres O-live's article. Understand it? LOL. Wow, thats going to give me a headache.
Seattle quarterback Russell Wilson threw a pass into the end zone. Several players, including Seattle wide receiver Golden Tate and Green Bay safety M.D. Jennings, jumped into the air in an attempt to catch the ball.

While the ball is in the air, Tate can be seen shoving Green Bay cornerback Sam Shields to the ground. This should have been a penalty for offensive pass interference, which would have ended the game. It was not called and is not reviewable in instant replay.

When the players hit the ground in the end zone, the officials determined that both Tate and Jennings had possession of the ball. Under the rule for simultaneous catch, the ball belongs to Tate, the offensive player. The result of the play was a touchdown.

Replay Official Howard Slavin stopped the game for an instant replay review. The aspects of the play that were reviewable included if the ball hit the ground and who had possession of the ball. In the end zone, a ruling of a simultaneous catch is reviewable. That is not the case in the field of play, only in the end zone.

Referee Wayne Elliott determined that no indisputable visual evidence existed to overturn the call on the field, and as a result, the on-field ruling of touchdown stood. The NFL Officiating Department reviewed the video today and supports the decision not to overturn the on-field ruling following the instant replay review.

The result of the game is final.

Applicable rules to the play are as follows:

A player (or players) jumping in the air has not legally gained possession of the ball until he satisfies the elements of a catch listed here.

Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3 of the NFL Rule Book defines a catch:

A forward pass is complete (by the offense) or intercepted (by the defense) if a player, who is inbounds:

(a) secures control of the ball in his hands or arms prior to the ball touching the ground; and

(b) touches the ground inbounds with both feet or with any part of his body other than his hands; and

(c) maintains control of the ball long enough, after (a) and (b) have been fulfilled, to enable him to perform any act common to the game (i.e., maintaining control long enough to pitch it, pass it, advance with it, or avoid or ward off an opponent, etc.).

When a player (or players) is going to the ground in the attempt to catch a pass, Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 1 states:

Player Going to the Ground. If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.

Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 5 states:

Simultaneous Catch. If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control. If the ball is muffed after simultaneous touching by two such players, all the players of the passing team become eligible to catch the loose ball.

Source: http://www.oregonlive.com/nfl/index..._seahawks_14-12_vic.html#incart_river_default
 
I know in cases of simultaneous sexual climax the tie goes to the male.
 
Yes. Jennings had the ball, brought it to his chest, and Tate reached in. The ball was clearly in possession of the Packers. It was a horrible call, and while I couldn't care less about either team, I feel bad for the Packers and their fans

Tate reached his hand in and had it on the ball before Jennings could bring it to his chest. If Tates hand never leaves the ball then Jennings cannot fully bring it to his chest and attempt to control it. While Jennings has one foot not two on the ground Tate reaches in and grabs the ball. Now both players have two hands on the ball fighting for it when Jennings other foot would be filed down. Jennings doesn't have complete control because Tate has a hand on the ball behind Jennings hands and has a hand on the front of the ball. Tate doesn't have control because Jennings has both hands on the ball. Like it or not that's a simultaneously caught ball. ESPN can deny it all they want but the rules don't agree with them.

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2
 
Tate reached his hand in and had it on the ball before Jennings could bring it to his chest. If Tates hand never leaves the ball then Jennings cannot fully bring it to his chest and attempt to control it. While Jennings has one foot not two on the ground Tate reaches in and grabs the ball. Now both players have two hands on the ball fighting for it when Jennings other foot would be filed down. Jennings doesn't have complete control because Tate has a hand on the ball behind Jennings hands and has a hand on the front of the ball. Tate doesn't have control because Jennings has both hands on the ball. Like it or not that's a simultaneously caught ball. ESPN can deny it all they want but the rules don't agree with them.

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2

I get it, you are a Seahawks fan. You are blinded by your loyalty, and that's great. Every person that has seen this has said it was a bad call. Chris Carter, who was a receiver said it was not simultaneous. Clearly shown that Jennings grabbed the ball with both hands, never lost possession of the ball, and Tate reached in with one hand and then wrapped his other arm around Jennings.


From your statement above, if tate doesn't have control because Jennings has both hands on the ball, how is that simultaneous? How is that a reception by Tate?
 
#1 Defensive Rule for Hail Mary Pass - KNOCK IT DOWN!
Packers would have won if Jennings would have done that!
 
Look, I'm a Seahawks fan, true, but I'm also not on the trail of ref hate ESPN's been pushing...

Look at it this way. Let's say Tate isn't even in the picture. Let's say Jennings goes up, grabs the ball and comes down with one foot out of bounds. It wouldn't have been an INT b/c he never had "possession", because that requires control of the ball and two feet down in bounds. Now let's go back to reality. Jennings goes up and "controls" the ball. Before he comes down with two feet in bounds ("possession") Tate puts both of his hands on the ball with both feet (back) in bounds, so that when Jennings' feet touch down they both have two hands on the ball and feet in bounds. Hence, the "simultaneous possession."

Everyone on creation thought Brady's Tuck was a fumble, too. Doesn't mean they were right.
 
Look, I'm a Seahawks fan, true, but I'm also not on the trail of ref hate ESPN's been pushing...

Look at it this way. Let's say Tate isn't even in the picture. Let's say Jennings goes up, grabs the ball and comes down with one foot out of bounds. It wouldn't have been an INT b/c he never had "possession", because that requires control of the ball and two feet down in bounds. Now let's go back to reality. Jennings goes up and "controls" the ball. Before he comes down with two feet in bounds ("possession") Tate puts both of his hands on the ball with both feet (back) in bounds, so that when Jennings' feet touch down they both have two hands on the ball and feet in bounds. Hence, the "simultaneous possession."

Everyone on creation thought Brady's Tuck was a fumble, too. Doesn't mean they were right.

If you want to get really technical then, Tate never got both feet down after he had possession of the ball. His foot never comes down after he bear hugs Jennings. At that point, Jennings is in bounds, in possession of the ball, and Tate has not yet got both feet down, got one hand on the ball and the other around Jennings
 
the left picture in post 36 seems to show that he either has two feet or his butt on the ground before Jennings gets his second foot down.
 
I know in cases of simultaneous sexual climax the tie goes to the male.


What if there is no male?

You know, when a ref is kicked out of the Lingerie Football League for incompetence ... (I am not making this up)

The funniest part? Scott Walker, Paul Ryan and others are now screaming about the incompetent inexperienced substitute refs and demanding the NFL settle so the league can have the professional refs back. Funny, they have no problem getting rid of professional teachers or firefighters...Ah, priorities!
 
I think this video makes it clear the refs made the right call.

[video=youtube;_69zsC08cxg]
 
I get it, you are a Seahawks fan. You are blinded by your loyalty, and that's great. Every person that has seen this has said it was a bad call. Chris Carter, who was a receiver said it was not simultaneous. Clearly shown that Jennings grabbed the ball with both hands, never lost possession of the ball, and Tate reached in with one hand and then wrapped his other arm around Jennings.


From your statement above, if tate doesn't have control because Jennings has both hands on the ball, how is that simultaneous? How is that a reception by Tate?

For one thing I'm not a seahawk fan. I'm saying that Tate has both hands on the ball before Jennings is considered down. Possession of the ball doesn't enter the equation until the players are down. I That then means that you have two players that have the ball and both our down. It's a caught ball but neither can be ruled as having been the only one to catch it. That's a simultaneously caught ball.
The video of the play clearly shows what I just said. If your going by the definition of the rules them it's a TD for Seattle.
Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2
 
Paul Allen must have been in shock. He's so used to seeing the Blazers f'ed by the refs, he must have difficulty conceving of a call going his way.
 
As far as this play, I think it was a really tough call for any official. I don't really have an issue with it being called either way. The call was made on the field and there isn't anything conclusive in the replay to say it was wrong. The ending of the sunday night game was worse, when a game winning fg that may or may not have been good was counted and not reviewed.
 
For one thing I'm not a seahawk fan. I'm saying that Tate has both hands on the ball before Jennings is considered down. Possession of the ball doesn't enter the equation until the players are down. I That then means that you have two players that have the ball and both our down. It's a caught ball but neither can be ruled as having been the only one to catch it. That's a simultaneously caught ball.
The video of the play clearly shows what I just said. If your going by the definition of the rules them it's a TD for Seattle.
Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2

Nobody excpet people on this board and Chicago fans thinks Tate ever controlled the ball
 
What it looked like to me is Tate took the ball out of the defender's hands on the way down, which is quite common in football these days. He came down with the ball in his hands, regardless of the defender also having the ball in his hands. Tie goes to the receiver. End of story.

I'm not a Seahawks fan either.
 
Tie goes to the receiver. End of story.

Yeah, too bad it wasn't a tie, Jennings had it first and kept it pinned against his chest the entire time. Not to mention the extremely obvious offensive pass interference that wasn't called (and which even the NFL admits the refs missed). As the announcers said, Green Bay got jobbed, and only pot smokers in the Northwest would disagree. End of story.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Back
Top