Pretty serious implications levied against NBA in regards to Jeremy Lin

Welcome to our community

Be a part of something great, join today!

No wonder you say it's impossible for us laymen to interpret the rule book. We've already taken a step the moment we touch the ball? That's silly. But, them's the rules, I guess.

If you're driving the lane with your dribble and you stopped on two feet have you established your pivot foot yet?

You have not.

Once you pivot you have taken a step and establish your pivot foot.
 
Rules are meant to be broken, see 100% of the NBA lol

There's one travel they specifically did not call ever. It happens usually after a jab step. When the player rips through they switch pivot feet. They lift their pivot foot rips through and then drive by taking that first step with their pivot foot. Brandon Roy did it all the time. It's Al Jefferson's go to move in the post.
 
If you're driving the lane with your dribble and you stopped on two feet have you established your pivot foot yet?

You have not.

Once you pivot you have taken a step and establish your pivot foot.

But in this case, since Lin only had one foot on the ground, he had, by rule, already taken a step the moment he touched the ball, no?
 
But in this case, since Lin only had one foot on the ground, he had, by rule, already taken a step the moment he touched the ball, no?

Bingo. He then may not lift that foot unless he started a dribble before it is lifted or he is ready to shoot or pass.
 
Bingo. He then may not lift that foot unless he started a dribble before it is lifted or he is ready to shoot or pass.

Exactly. As I said, the notion that someone can already have taken a step without even having moved is insane. But who am I to question the almighty rule-creators.
 
Utah really needed that game tonight. With Houstons easy schedule and the fact that the Jazz still play the Mavericks once doesn't bode well for them. Obviously they HAVE to win the game vs the Mavs, but even then it might be too little too late. They are the team who has to play in LA for Kobes final NBA game ever.... Yikes.
 
Exactly. As I said, the notion that someone can already have taken a step without even having moved is insane. But who am I to question the almighty rule-creators.

But he did take a step to establish his pivot foot. I'm not sure why your not getting that.
 
Yeah that Carmelo Anthony foul was pretty bad 2. Certainly should have been reviewed. But racism?? No, what's racist is to call them:



That's definitely a racial slur...

FOB stands for "Fresh off the boat". It literally applies to all immigrants, regardless of color.
 
But he did take a step to establish his pivot foot. I'm not sure why your not getting that.
Please be patient with me; I'm seriously trying to understand here.

OK, his left foot was down and his right foot in the air when he got the ball. Was his left foot established as his pivot foot at that moment? Or was his pivot foot established after his right foot came down to the floor?
 
Last edited:
FOB stands for "Fresh off the boat". It literally applies to all immigrants, regardless of color.

I know what it stands for. It's still a racial slur. I still also understand it's considered okay for the same immigrants to say it each other (for the same reason it's ok for me to use the word nigga). I didn't know El Presidente was Asian.
 
Last edited:
Please be patient with me; I'm seriously trying to understand here.

OK, his left foot was down and his right foot in the air when he got the ball. Was his left foot established as his pivot foot at that moment? Or was his pivot foot established after his right foot came down to the floor?

I'm sorry. I'll be patient. Traveling literally is the hardest call to make in basketball.

The step is a step regardless of whether or not he has the ball right?

That step, now that he has possession of the ball, counts as a step toward a traveling violation if he lifts it to do anything other than shoot or pass.
 
I'm sorry. I'll be patient. Traveling literally is the hardest call to make in basketball.

The step is a step regardless of whether or not he has the ball right?

That step, now that he has possession of the ball, counts as a step toward a traveling violation if he lifts it to do anything other than shoot or pass.
But my question is regarding the establishment of the pivot foot. If I understood correctly, when he received the ball, with his left foot on the ground, and his right foot in the air, his left foot was immediately established as his pivot foot, counting as his first step.

Then, when he lifted his left foot after his right foot came down, that counted as his second step pre-dribble, which should have resulted in the travel call at that moment, yes?

Do I have all that correct? That his pivot foot is established the instant he received the ball because only one foot is touching the floor at that instant?
 
I know what it stands for. It's still a racial slur. I still also understand it's considered okay for the same immigrants to say it each other (for the same reason it's ok for me to use the word nigga). I didn't know El Presidente was Asian.
I disagree that this double standard should be acceptable.

But I accept I am in the minority.

:cheers:
 
I know what it stands for. It's still a racial slur. I still also understand it's considered okay for the same immigrants to say it each other (for the same reason it's ok for me to use the word nigga). I didn't know El Presidente was Asian.

How is it a racial slur? It's applied to all immigrants. It's definitely a hateful slur, and it's classist, but it's not necessarily racial.
 
But my question is regarding the establishment of the pivot foot. If I understood correctly, when he received the ball, with his left foot on the ground, and his right foot in the air, his left foot was immediately established as his pivot foot, counting as his first step.

Yes. It counts as a step because you can only take 1 step after it is established. Your first step is always the establishment of the pivot foot. Even if you're running full speed and doing a 2 step fundamental layup.

Then, when he lifted his left foot after his right foot came down, that counted as his second step pre-dribble, which should have resulted in the travel call at that moment, yes?

Do I have all that correct? That his pivot foot is established the instant he received the ball because only one foot is touching the floor at that instant?

You have it all correct except the travel call would not have happened the moment he lifted his pivot foot while putting his right foot down. The travel happens when he decides to dribble after his pivot foot is lifted. If he had chosen to shoot or pass it would have been legal.
 
Last edited:
How is it a racial slur? It's applied to all immigrants. It's definitely a hateful slur, and it's classist, but it's not necessarily racial.

Jesus dude why are you so technical?
That word is certainly not said about any white people. And white people come from more than just America. They're not calling people from Britain fob.
 
I disagree that this double standard should be acceptable.

But I accept I am in the minority.

:cheers:

I don't agree that it is a double standard even though technically it kinda is. I can call my friend nigga if I want to without being questioned as to why I get to say it and they don't. I personally believe that you can use that word in kindness, only if it's been used against you in hate.

My question to them would be why they'd want to say it. It's not necessary to relate.
 
Jesus dude why are you so technical?
That word is certainly not said about any white people. And white people come from more than just America. They're not calling people from Britain fob.

I just wish the knee jerk reaction wasn't always, "That's racist!"

Not everything is racist. Some things are just people being assholes.
 
latest
 
I'm sorry. I'll be patient. Traveling literally is the hardest call to make in basketball.

The step is a step regardless of whether or not he has the ball right?

That step, now that he has possession of the ball, counts as a step toward a traveling violation if he lifts it to do anything other than shoot or pass.
So, hypothetically, if he catches the ball with his toes on his left foot leaving, but still on the ground, that means that right when they lift of the ground, it's s travel? That call would happen in only a couple tenths of a second, and would make it impossible to catch the ball on the run.

It was always my opinion that you had to have a pivot foot unless you were on the run. If you were on the run you can take 2 steps, but they have to be fluid.
 
I saw two flagrents, the Kobe and the LA one. The rest just prove how weak the NBA has become in regards to fans expecting a flagrent every time a guy gets hit.
 
I just wish the knee jerk reaction wasn't always, "That's racist!"

Not everything is racist. Some things are just people being assholes.

Sometimes that reaction is right. And like it or not I think that's something you need to come to terms with.
 
Yes. It counts as a step because you can only take 1 step after it is established. Your first step is always the establishment of the pivot foot. Even if you're running full speed and doing a 2 step fundamental layup.



You have it all correct except the travel call would not have happened the moment he lifted his pivot foot while putting his right foot down. The travel happens when he decides to dribble after his pivot foot is lifted. If he had chosen to shoot or pass it would have been legal.

This is great, and clarifies things wonderfully; I really appreciate it. One last question. If, hypothetically, his left foot left the ground after receiving the ball but his right foot never touched (ie, he was in the air, whether jumping or running), and then he decided to dribble rather than shoot or pass, would that also be a travel under the same logic?
 
So, hypothetically, if he catches the ball with his toes on his left foot leaving, but still on the ground, that means that right when they lift of the ground, it's s travel? That call would happen in only a couple tenths of a second, and would make it impossible to catch the ball on the run.

It was always my opinion that you had to have a pivot foot unless you were on the run. If you were on the run you can take 2 steps, but they have to be fluid.

No. You may lift your pivot foot. It is legal to lift it. You must however be shooting or passing.

When thinking about catching the ball on the run, picture a 3 man weave: When doing this drill there is no dribbling. 4 things happen in succession: A pass, catching the ball, taking 2 steps, then either passing again or shooting the layup. Every one of us has done this drill or can at least picture it right? The reason why it's legal to take the 2 steps in between passing and making the layup is because is it legal to pick up the pivot foot while passing or shooting.

Ok so when you catch the ball on the run and you immediately put it on the floor to dribble, that's legal. Now... Picture taking the 2 steps after catching the ball. After taking those steps you may NOT dribble. That is (at the college, HS level) an automatic traveling call. The NBA misses this call often.

Now, If your feet are not touching the ground you do not have a pivot foot. If both feet land at the same time (jump stop after dribbling) you do not have a pivot foot and you can choose either one.
 
Last edited:
This is great, and clarifies things wonderfully; I really appreciate it. One last question. If, hypothetically, his left foot left the ground after receiving the ball but his right foot never touched (ie, he was in the air, whether jumping or running), and then he decided to dribble rather than shoot or pass, would that also be a travel under the same logic?

He would be David Blaine the friggin levitator! No JK.. Lol tbh I'm having a hard time picturing what you're describing.
 

Haha. I know. That show (hilarious as a MF) is the exact same show as Blackish. It does what I say we all should do and that's punch racism in the mouth by making fun of it.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Back
Top