kjironman1
Well-Known Member
- Joined
- May 16, 2014
- Messages
- 23,166
- Likes
- 23,747
- Points
- 113
You are wrong here. It starts with the first step to the gather. As soon as he went from one hand to the other hand, he starts a new gather. You cannot switch hands on the gather as he did there. That would add an additional two steps to any drive which is against the rules.Any that understand that the counting of steps doesn't begin until both hands are on the ball (or it's being palmed or the hand is underneath). The steps after the last dribble but before the second hand touches the ball are completely irrelevant.
This is pretty clearly described in rules.
"In the NBA, traveling is illegal movement of the ball without dribbling, and the rules center on steps taken after the "gather" of the ball. A player can take two steps after gathering the ball to stop, pass, or shoot. If starting a dribble, they are allowed one step to release the ball. Key illegal actions include taking more than the allowed steps, lifting and returning the pivot foot to the floor, or dragging the pivot foot"
He very clearly gathered twice in those steps. Refs simply missed this call and they do it quite a bit for Giannis.
